A Dreamer Trapped In The Ordinary

You know in movies when the character stands still and the whole world is rushing passed and around him/her? Well, currently that is how I am feeling (I don’t know about anyone else). Time is moving faster than lightning and I cannot seem to keep up. It literally feels as if I have fallen off the face off earth; I guess this is why I haven’t been writing as much as I used to. I normally write about life experiences that happen around- and even to me. But, as of late, nothing really exhilarating has happened in my life that is worth writing about. I am a dreamer trapped in the life of the ordinary.

Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against the ordinary life, people prefer life that way; I think I do too in a sense, it is a form of safety, comfort. But, at a certain point you lose your sense of wonder. Everyday after working my 8-5 job, on my way home, sitting in traffic and looking at everything going on around me; I observe all the people goin- no, rushing home. I look at them and wonder: “What do they really want to be?”, they all work really hard and you can see it- in their faces and bodies. They all rush to get home to their families to do their second job of the day. That is the lives people live. Regardless of the fact that I know that there is so much more to life, I know they know it too. Unfortunately, the ordinary life entails bills and other responsibilities which leads people to push their dreams and goals aside and focus on ‘what is important’. I have a quick question: is it possible to add your dreams and goals to your responsibility ‘pile’? It probably differs from person to person… but it gives you something to think about.

Life has become such a rush that we forget what is important in life- what we want in life and how short life really is. It is important that you do what you want to do in life, you have to make yourself proud. I know it is funny coming from a ‘dreamer that is trapped in the ordinary’, but that is why I am writing this; I am writing this to encourage anyone and everyone not to get caught in a place they do not want to be and feel they do not belong, because a person can get sucked in before a blink of an eye.

If you are like me, a dreamer- stuck. You are capable to go where you want to be. It is going to be tough and it is going it to be hard. But just know, there is someone else in this with you- and probably a million others.

Some parts of the world dreamers do not belong, if you find yourself not at home- leave.

Until next time,

Tasia
xo.

3 thoughts on “A Dreamer Trapped In The Ordinary

  1. xoxjenn says:

    I’ve had that feeling so many times before…often followed by an emptiness or restlessness. I’m a dreamer, but now I’m one working to make what dreams I can [realistically and within my own power] come true. Seeing the cycles of humanity, ordinary lives appear like blessings in comparison to the broken, war-torn, or unstable lives of others around the world. Our secluded routines can so quickly unravel with a sudden death of a loved one or with a health condition/disease that painfully alters your body destroying any sense of actual security one felt before. Life does move quickly – so quickly that it almost feels like you could be forgotten in the haze should you stay still too long. I don’t want to die wondering what I could’ve done to change the direction of my life or fill in the emptiness I had. It’s why I’ve jumped far into the unknown and changed my usual routine. I’m working in a relaxed manner (stopped stressing about what I couldn’t control), I take in the little things even while I’m stuck in the chaos of traffic, I stopped caring about what I didn’t need to care so much about before, etc. Now it feels different when time and my surroundings rush by. The once blurred images sharpen. I take in what I used to ignore and remember the faces, the names, the stories – the details that I took for granted. Not sure if what I’m rambling on about sounds silly or is unwelcome. I just felt like reaching out and sharing this. When the story of one’s life ends, all they have are the people who they made a part of their life, the memories, and their dreams. 🙂

  2. Bianca says:

    Relatable and inspiring… Blessed to have such an inspirational person as a friend ! I’m gonna work on that dream and so should you

    XO ♡

Leave a Reply

